Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

bnm-symbol.jpg

Persons responsible: Dr. Alfred Grimm

Since 1 May 2014 the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum (Bavarian National Museum) has had its own department for provenance research. As a result, it is now in a position to meet its obligations in full regarding the identification and restitution of cultural assets confiscated as a result of Nazi persecution, as specified in the Washington Principles of 3 December 1998 at the Conference on Holocaust-Era Assets that were also signed by the Federal Republic of Germany. The duties of the department of provenance research encompass the systematic and thorough review of the provenance of the museum’s holdings from 1933 up to the present day, based on existing documentation, as well as the handling of concrete restitution questions and requests. In 2005, the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum already published its initial findings on certain items in its holdings in Entehrt. Ausgeplündert. Arisiert. Entrechtung und Enteignung der Juden (Magdeburg 2005) and, in 2006, in the commemorative publication 150 Jahre Bayerisches Nationalmuseum.

Dr. Alfred Grimm is Head of the Provenance Research Department.

Dr. Ilse von zur Mühlen is working on the project ‘Works in Metal from the Art Collection of Hermann Göring in the Bavarian National Museum’, sponsored by the Bavarian State Ministry of Education, Science and the Arts and the German Lost Art Foundation (Magdeburg), as a research fellow (01.04.2015–31.03.2017).

Systematic review of holdings

Porzellanfigur.jpgPorzellanfigur der Thetis (Inv.-Nr. 42/212)
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

The first survey of around 6000 individual items acquired between 1933 and 1945 has now been concluded. All objects have been classified according to the criteria ‘not encumbered’ (80%), ‘possibly encumbered’ (3%) and ‘encumbered’ (17%). Nine objects that have now been identified as having been acquired as a result of Nazi persecution have since been uploaded onto ‘Lost Art’. These include the porcelain figure of Thetis (inv. no. 42/212). At the same time a cursory inspection of objects that entered the collection after 1945 was carried out together with the heads of division and conservators.

 

‘Transfers of state-owned property’ from the ‘Göring Collection'

Between 2012 and 2014 Ilse von zur Mühlen identified a number of items that entered the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum after 1945 – from 1961 until 2004 – as ‘transfers of state-owned property’, which had formerly been in the possession of the Nazis (National Socialists – NS – and the National Socialist German Workers’ Party – NSDAD), as having come from the ‘collections’ of Hermann Göring, Hans Frank, Heinrich Hoffmann, Max Amann and Hermann Giesler. Of these, artworks formerly in the possession of Hermann Göring form by far the largest group in number. Ilse von zur Mühlen has been researching their provenance since March 2012.

Skulpturen.pngSkulpturen aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹ ©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Sculptural objects from the ‘Göring Collection’

Between 1961 and 2004 some 430 works of art from the ‘Göring Collection’ in the possession of the Free State of Bavaria were transferred to the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum. The complete holdings that comprise sculptures, metal objects, textiles, tapestries, stained-glass windows, faïence and furniture were examined by Ilse von zur Mühlen between March 2012 and February 2014. The findings on the artworks from the ‘Göring Collection’ have been available on the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum’s Internet database since July 2014. These are updated as appropriate. At the same time, the sculptural objects – totalling 73 individual items in all – have been registered on ‘Lost Art’.

Metallkunst BNM.pngWerke der Metallkunst aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Works in metal from the ‘Göring Collection’

Since April 2015 Ilse von zur Mühlen has been focussing on 92 inventory numbers (including sub-numbers), pertaining to works in metal. Unlike sculpture, the provenance of these objects is disproportionally difficult to determine as their inclusion in publications is less common and there is a lack of illustrations as well as the fact that several, very similar copies exist. As in the case of the project on sculptural works in the ‘Göring Collection’, the results of this research will also be made available in brief on the website of the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum and on ‘Lost Art’.

 

Compulsory surrender of silver in private Jewish ownership (1939)

Silbergaben BNM.jpgObjekte aus der Zwangsabgabe von Silber aus jüdischem Privatbesitz
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

In order to enable the restitution of works to entitled parties, the 112 objects – confiscated as a result of persecution by the Nazis as part of the ‘compulsory surrender of silver in private Jewish ownership’ (1939) – still in the ownership of the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, or re-transferred to the museum in 1964 and 1969 from the ‘Finanzmittelstelle’ (financial resources office) of the Free State of Bavaria due to the lack of rightful claimants, are now being examined so that they can be uploaded onto the ‘Lost Art’ website.

Restitution verification procedure

D109383.jpgRingergruppe (Inv.-Nr. 59/10)
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

In addition to the museum’s own proactive research, the duties of the provenance research department include the processing of restitution enquiries and verification claims. In this respect, for example, between 2013 and 2016, the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum, in cooperation with the Museum Fünf Kontinente, carried out a survey of works acquired first-hand at three auctions held at the auctioneer’s Paul Graupe in Berlin or from third parties. The results of this research that has now been concluded are soon to be presented online.

Digitalisation of archival records relevant to provenance research

Dokumentation.jpgDokumentation zur Zwangsabgabe von Silber aus jüdischem Privatbesitz
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Started in 2015 and funded by the Bavarian State Ministry of Education, Science and the Arts, the digitalisation of archival records in the documentation department at the Bayerisches Nationalmuseum (BNM) and relevant to provenance research has now been finished. More precisely, these include records of acquisitions made between 1932 and 1947, all documents in the documentation department at the BNM on objects that entered the museum between 1933 and 1945 and those that were transferred to the Central Collecting Point in Munich after 1945 or restituted to the owners, as well as records on Nazi confiscated art that remained at the BNM. Specific searches can be made on this digitalised database that can be consulted for research purposes at the BNM, both by the general public as well as by members of FPB-affiliated institutions (in the digital FPB resources repository).

 

Diese Seite teilen

Museumswebsite gefördert durch:

Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Mussen in Bayern
Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung
Einwilligung zur Nutzung. Diese Website verwendet Matomo Web-Statistik und Videos von YouTube.
Ihre Einwilligung in deren Nutzung ist freiwillig und kann jederzeit widerrufen werden.
Eine einfache Widerrufsmöglichkeit sowie weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.
Ablehnen Akzeptieren

Bayerisches Nationalmuseum

Seit 1. Mai 2014 verfügt das Bayerische Nationalmuseum über ein eigenes Referat für Provenienzforschung. Es kann dadurch in vollem Umfang den Verpflichtungen zur Identifikation und Restitution NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenen Kulturguts nachkommen, die aus der am 3. Dezember 1998 auf der Conference on Holocaust-Era Assets von der Bundesrepublik Deutschland mitunterzeichneten »Washingtoner Erklärung« (»Washington Principles«) resultieren. Zum Aufgabengebiet des Referats für Provenienzforschung gehört die systematische und lückenlose Überprüfung der Bestände seit 1933 bis heute hinsichtlich ihrer Herkunft anhand vorhandener Dokumente sowie die Bearbeitung konkreter Restitutionsanfragen bzw. –forderungen. Bereits 2005 veröffentlichte das Bayerische Nationalmuseum erste Ergebnisse zu entsprechenden Beständen in »Entehrt. Ausgeplündert. Arisiert. Entrechtung und Enteignung der Juden« (Magdeburg 2005) sowie 2006 in der Festschrift »150 Jahre Bayerisches Nationalmuseum«.

Die Leitung des Referats für Provenienzforschung hat Dr. Alfred Grimm inne.

Dr. Ilse von zur Mühlen bearbeitet als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin (01.04.2015–31.03.2017) das vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Bildung und Kultus, Wissenschaft und Kunst sowie von der Stiftung Deutschen Zentrum Kulturgutverluste (Magdeburg) geförderte Projekt »Werke der Metallkunst aus der Kunstsammlung Hermann Göring im Bayerischen Nationalmuseum«.

Systematische Überprüfung der Sammlungsbestände

Porzellanfigur.jpgPorzellanfigur der Thetis (Inv.-Nr. 42/212)
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Für den Erwerbungszeitraum von 1933 bis 1945 mit ca. 6.000 Einzelobjekten konnte eine erste Bestandsaufnahme inzwischen abgeschlossen werden. Sämtliche Objekte sind dabei nach den Kriterien ›unbelastet‹ (80%), ›möglicherweise belastet‹ (3%) und ›belastet‹ (17%) klassifiziert worden. Neun neu identifizierte NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogene Objekte sind inzwischen auf ›Lost Art‹ eingestellt worden, darunter die Porzellanfigur der Thetis (Inv.-Nr. 42/212). Gleichzeitig konnte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Referentinnen, Referenten und Restauratoren des Hauses eine kursorische Sichtung der ab 1945 verzeichneten Objekteingänge durchgeführt werden.

 

›Überweisungen aus Staatsbesitz‹ aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹

Zahlreiche nach 1945 ‒ zwischen 1961 und 2004 ‒ als ›Überweisungen aus Staatsbesitz‹ an das Bayerische Nationalmuseum gelangte Objekte aus ehemaligem NS- und NSDAP-Besitz konnten zwischen 2012 und 2014 von Ilse von zur Mühlen den ›Sammlungen‹ von Hermann Göring, Hans Frank, Heinrich Hoffmann, Max Amann und Hermann Giesler zugeordnet werden. Die zahlenmäßig bei weitem größte Gruppe stellen dabei Kunstwerke aus dem ehemaligen Besitz von Hermann Göring dar, deren Provenienz seit März 2012 von Ilse von zur Mühlen erforscht wird.

Skulpturen.pngSkulpturen aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Bildwerke aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹

Zwischen 1961 und 2004 wurden dem Bayerischen Nationalmuseum etwa 430 Kunstwerke aus der ›Sammlung‹ Hermann Görings aus dem Besitz des Freistaates Bayern übertragen. Ilse von zur Mühlen erarbeitete zwischen März 2012 und Februar 2014 den Gesamtbestand, der sich aus Kunstwerken aus den Bereichen Skulptur, Metall, Textilien, Tapisserien, Glasfenstern, Fayencen und Möbeln zusammensetzt. Die Ergebnisse zu den Bildwerken aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹ sind seit Juli 2014 in der Internet-Datenbank des Bayerischen Nationalmuseums publiziert und werden bei Bedarf jeweils aktualisiert. Gleichzeitig wurden die Werke ‒ insgesamt 73 Einzelobjekte ‒ auf ›Lost Art‹ gemeldet.

Metallkunst BNM.pngWerke der Metallkunst aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Werke der Metallkunst aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹

Seit April 2015 konzentriert sich Ilse von zur Mühlen auf 92 Inventarnummern (einschließlich Unternummern), die dem Bereich Metallkunst zuzurechnen sind. Die Provenienz dieser Objekte ist aufgrund der im Gegensatz zu den Skulpturen schlechteren Publikationslage und fehlender Abbildungen sowie durch die Existenz mehrerer sehr ähnlicher Exemplare ungleich schwieriger zu eruieren. Wie schon für das Projekt zu den Bildwerken aus der ›Sammlung Göring‹, so sollen auch die Ergebnisse dieser Recherche in Kurzform auf der Website des Bayerischen Nationalmuseums und auf ›Lost Art‹ zugänglich gemacht werden.

Zwangsabgabe von Silber aus jüdischem Privatbesitz (1939)

Silbergaben BNM.jpgObjekte aus der Zwangsabgabe von Silber aus jüdischem Privatbesitz
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Um anspruchsberechtigten Personen die Möglichkeit auf Rückgabe zu eröffnen, werden zur Zeit die im Bayerischen Nationalmuseum verbliebenen bzw. in den Jahren 1964 und 1969 von der Finanzmittelstelle des Freistaates Bayern wegen damals fehlender Anspruchsberechtigter an das Bayerische Nationalmuseum rücküberwiesenen NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenen 112 Objekte aus der ›Zwangsabgabe von Silber aus jüdischem Privatbesitz‹ (1939) bearbeitet, um sie auf ›Lost Art‹ einzustellen.

Restitutionsprüfverfahren

D109383.jpgRingergruppe (Inv.-Nr. 59/10)
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Neben der proaktiven Eigenrecherche gehört die Durchführung von Prüfverfahren aufgrund von Restitutionsanfragen bzw. -forderungen zu den Aufgaben des Referats für Provenienzforschung. So überprüfte das Bayerische Nationalmuseum z. B. in Kooperation mit dem Museum Fünf Kontinente von 2013 bis 2016 die auf drei Versteigerungen des Auktionshauses Paul Graupe in Berlin direkt bzw. aus Drittbesitz erworbenen Werke; die Ergebnisse dieser inzwischen abgeschlossenen Recherchen sollen demnächst Online gestellt werden.

Digitalisierung der für die Provenienzforschung relevanten Archivalien

Dokumentation.jpgDokumentation zur Zwangsabgabe von Silber aus jüdischem Privatbesitz
©Bayerisches Nationalmuseum München

Die 2015 mit Sondermitteln des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums für Bildung und Kultus, Wissenschaft und Kunst ist 2015 begonnene Digitalisierung der für die Provenienzforschung relevanten, in der Dokumentationsabteilung des Bayerischen Nationalmuseum verwahrten Archivalien konnte inzwischen abgeschlossenen werden. Im Einzelnen handelt es ich um die Zugangsbüchern von 1932 bis 1947 sowie um sämtliche in der Dokumentationsabteilung des Bayerischen Nationalmuseums vorhandenen Unterlagen zu den zwischen 1933 und 1945 an das BNM gelangten und nach 1945 vom BNM dem Münchner Central Collecting Point übergebenen bzw. an die Eigentümer restituierten sowie zu den im BNM verbliebenen NS-verfolgungsbedingt entzogenen Objekten. Diese gezielt durchsuchbaren Digitalisate stehen nun im BNM sowohl der Öffentlichkeit wie auch (im Digitalen FPB-Ressourcenrepositorium) den Mitgliedern der dem FPB angehörenden Institutionen für Recherchezwecke zur Verfügung.

 

Diese Seite teilen

Museumswebsite gefördert durch:

Landesstelle für die nichtstaatlichen Mussen in Bayern
Bayerische Sparkassenstiftung